Down a River, Back in Time, Or Tracking a Killer, Local Authors Guide Us On Adventures

Deb Margeson knows something about the best new titles hitting shelves. She is a Collection Development Librarian with Douglas County Libraries —she selects the fiction for DCL. Here, Deb shares great reads from Colorado authors.

 

Westering Women by Sandra Dallas (Colorado author)

The ad reads, “If you are an adventuresome young woman of high moral character and fine health, are you willing to travel to California in search of a good husband?” And with that, Maggie sets out from Chicago in 1852 for the gold mines. Wonderful historical fiction from a Colorado favorite.

 

The River by Peter Heller (Colorado author)

Two best friends take the canoe trip of their lives on a wild river in northern Canada. Their plans go awry when wildfires threaten. And if that’s not enough, they discover a barely conscious young woman.

 

The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt by Andrea Bobotis (Colorado author)

There are some difficult truths hidden behind the doors of grand Southern mansions. The story of a murder is slowly revealed as Judith Kratt lists her family heirlooms. A debut by a Denver author.

 

Tracking Game by Margaret Mizushima (a former Colorado resident and graduate of CSU)

Mattie and her K-9 partner, Robo, face poachers, murderers and a predator not usually found in Colorado. Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will love this police procedural set in the Colorado mountains.

 

The Gifted School by Bruce Holsinger

Parents behaving badly in a fictional town that sounds a lot like Boulder, Colorado, where the author just happened to live at one time. Smart and juicy, and compulsively readable.